Thread: Having some issues running roms with MameUI .161

Thanks

Default Having some issues running roms with MameUI .161

I am new to all of this but have done some poking around. I can get a decent amount of game to run which is awesome. However I am having issues with other roms and wondering if I can get some help.

I am running MAMEUI 64bit ver .161
    Using windows 8.1 intel system

Game in question that I cannot run is Marvel Vs. Capcom 1 & 2

When I check the bios section Naomi 1, 2 and GD are marked as not working. Now I think the above games use those as the bios? so that would explain why it is not working most likely. At least stage one of troubleshooting. I have downloaded a bunch of bios file for naomi and the MameUI doesn't recognize them. So I am thinking I am running older versions of the bios which are not compatible with the latest mame build? Am I correct so far in my assumptions?

If someone can explain to me how the different versions work I would appreciate it. Do I need to get bios files which are all compatible with .161 to work for me? if so how do I know it's a compatible version and where can I get it?

Maybe this version is very new and i would have better luck using an older version of mame with greater software and bios support?

Thanks guys, I know I am new so but I have spent the last few days trying to learn myself but I am hitting a wall.

Cheers!

Zorlon is offline Older than you think
    Still loves Retro gaming
    Still loves new consoles
    Part time games modder
    Just here to help out when I can
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,176 Times in 1,328 Posts
    Blog Entries
    EP Points

They are not Naomi system or GD based games it's a CPS2 game

If you audit the game it will tell you what is missing or even just trying to run it will tell you want is missing and where it looked (MAME counts zip files as folders)

I would guess at you missing the Q-Sound rom though used by most Capcom System 2 (CPS2) games