Thread: Best cards for DS and 3DS?

Thanks
    EP Points

Default Best cards for DS and 3DS?

I am a total and utter novice to doing stuff like this with the DS and 3DS, I'm looking to play games off the memory card/stick in any case.
    I want to play it like I do with the PSP (which I am much more familiar with), games that were originally made for the system/s plus any compatible retro games from whichever system like Atari, Genesis, Gameboy etc. like the ones that work on the PSP.

What is the best card to get for both and what do I need etc. to get it working? I read that I need a micro SD card (like the ones that go in the adapter inside a PSP?) and some kind of adapter for the DS and 3DS of course. I ideally want one for each of my consoles DS and 3DS respectively if possible so what is the best one to get for both?

Also what is the file structure like when putting stuff on the card? As I say I am only really familiar with what folders go where on the PSP so is it anything like that or more complicated?

Thanks all

Zorlon is offline Older than you think
    Still loves Retro gaming
    Still loves new consoles
    Part time games modder
    Just here to help out when I can
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,176 Times in 1,328 Posts
    Blog Entries
    EP Points

Wait for the SuperCard DSTWO + to get released

Otherwise it's the SuperCard DSTWO for DS native & GBA, SNES and other emulated systems but that has stopped production to make way for the + version and the Gateway card just for 3DS games

All kits use micro SD's currently

DS kits from day one have all custom file structures but easy enough to follow, but slightly different per kit, every card/kit has what is called a kernal that is placed on the root of the SD card, it's a bit like CFW I guess but a bit more as it is the software that runs the cart and gives it the gui you see on screen, hence why each kit is slightly different