Thread: Silent Hill (J) [SLPM-86192] Loading Issues

Thanks

Default Silent Hill (J) [SLPM-86192] Loading Issues

Hey

I got interested in playing the old Silent Hill games again. SWIM came here acquired the title ROM and pSX 1.13 (I can't get ePSXe to work), and the necessary .bin file.

Now, I can get the English version of the game running just fine. However, upon downloading the Japanese version, its a different story.

Steps:
    Downloaded RAR
    Unzipped .cue and .7z
    Unzipped the .7z to get a .bin.ecm
    Put the .ecm through unecm.exe, was given a .bin the other side.
    Put that .bin in the same directory as .cue
    Load the .cue up in pSX
    I get the warning about violent imagery (in Japanese)
    I get the various company names coming up, as per normal

Suddenly this:

And it refuses to go any further.

What can be causing this? A bad scph1001.bin ? Bad ROM? Any ideas? I'm a bit new to emulators so it's probably something stupid that I've overlooked.

Thanks!

-Bottom

Thanks
    EP Points

Sounds like a copy protection issue if you can find and patch the game with the appropriate patch it should work.

There is a difference between ignorance and stupidity ignorant people can be taught
    stupid people need to be shot.

Thanks

Damn, I was hoping not to see that. The only Japanese ROM for SH1 I can find is hosted at emuparadise, and I can't find any patchers. Seems like a dead end with this one, short of buying a Japanese PS1 unit and the original disk.

Thanks
    EP Points

Quote Originally Posted by Pigeon_Bottom View Post
    Damn, I was hoping not to see that. The only Japanese ROM for SH1 I can find is hosted at emuparadise, and I can't find any patchers. Seems like a dead end with this one, short of buying a Japanese PS1 unit and the original disk.
    I have to go to work now but if someone else hasn't helped i'll try to find a patch for you later

Sent from my LGL35G using Tapatalk 2