Thread: Noob burning ISOs for PS2 console

Thanks

Exclamation Noob burning ISOs for PS2 console

Hello, recently I’ve been trying to burn some PS2 game ISOs to DVD-R discs for use in my PS2. Once I get this down I hope to do the same for some of my other consoles. I’m new to this process, however, and am encountering a few problems.
    First of all, I’m using DVD Decrypter, which I understand is a good program to use for burning DVDs. I’m following all of the steps correctly, choosing the source and the drive to burn to, and writing the ISO to the blank DVD I’ve placed in the drive. I know that when it comes to this the slower the speed the better, but unfortunately the slowest speed my DVD-Rs will support is 4x. Is this speed slow enough? If not I’ll be able to buy slower speed DVD-Rs next week—I found some at Radiohack that should be able to burn at 2.4x—and I’ve been considering doing that anyway, if it proves necessary.
    Anyway, so far I haven’t been able to use the discs I’ve burned. I have verify checked, and the ISO seems to burn to the DVD (it seven ays operation completed successfully by the end), but when I place the disc in my PS2 it simply says “Please insert a Playstation or Playstation 2 format disc.”
    I’ve followed multiple tutorials online, I’ve followed all the steps and I’m pretty sure that I’m doing everything else correctly. What exactly am I doing wrong? Is it the speed?
    I know a lot of you are ISO-burning veterans, so if anyone could help me out with this I’d greatly appreciate it! Thanks!

Thanks
    EP Points

Most people (including myself) seem to use and recommend ImgBurn at 4x speed, which works beautifully.

Is your PS2 modded? If so, what method are you using? If not, you won't be able to use burnt discs until you get some sort of modification in place. Check the Playstation 2 FAQ stickied in this section for more information regarding your options.

Thanks
    EP Points