Results 1 to 15 of 253

Thread: [GUIDE] Make a Reprogrammable Genesis Cart

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jazzmarazz View Post
    Nothing to worry about. All of the cart technologies are the same from cart to cart. As Zorlon said, all of the region checking will occur in your console itself.
    Great stuff. That also makes hunting for donor carts much easier too

    Do Genesis roms not have any headers that need removing before programming like SNES roms?
    Does it matter what format the file is in? Is .Bin fine?

    Thanks again for your help.
    Last edited by SUPERABOBO; 15th-June-2014 at 19:44.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    In a windowless van.
    Posts
    10,330
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 701 Times in 329 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    EP Points
    1430

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SUPERABOBO View Post
    Great stuff. That also makes hunting for donor carts much easier too

    Do Genesis roms not have any headers that need removing before programming like SNES roms?
    Does it matter what format the file is in? Is .Bin fine?

    Thanks again for your help.
    No stripping required. The Genesis actually requires the "header" to be present since it checks for the SEGA string.
    Just be careful with MD/SM/BIN converters. They make modifications specially for emulators and could render the ROM file unplayable on real hardware. I prefer BIN format.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jazzmarazz View Post
    No stripping required. The Genesis actually requires the "header" to be present since it checks for the SEGA string.
    Just be careful with MD/SM/BIN converters. They make modifications specially for emulators and could render the ROM file unplayable on real hardware. I prefer BIN format.
    Ah nice, Good to know.

    Is it best pad out a rom to fill out the Eprom?

    Looking at Panorama Cotton which is 2.5MB, should I pad it to 4MB to fill a 27C322, or does it not matter?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    In a windowless van.
    Posts
    10,330
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 701 Times in 329 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    EP Points
    1430

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SUPERABOBO View Post
    Ah nice, Good to know.

    Is it best pad out a rom to fill out the Eprom?

    Looking at Panorama Cotton which is 2.5MB, should I pad it to 4MB to fill a 27C322, or does it not matter?
    Short answer, no; only if you want to.
    Long answer, : the Genesis, unlike the gameboy, does not read every byte to create a checksum of sorts. Granted you have all of the addressing pins on your Eprom connected to an output, those bytes will never be accessed, so the data is unimportant.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jazzmarazz View Post
    Short answer, no; only if you want to.
    Long answer, : the Genesis, unlike the gameboy, does not read every byte to create a checksum of sorts. Granted you have all of the addressing pins on your Eprom connected to an output, those bytes will never be accessed, so the data is unimportant.
    Well thats a switch. I'm that used to padding roms for NES and SNES I thought Gen games would need padding also.

    Thanks for your help, dude.

    Having some problems programming 27c322 chips. 27c160 programmed no problem, the 322's seem to program ok yet gives me an error when they try to verify. But yet looking at the data buffer it seems like they programmed ok? Really strange.

    Everything is setup correctly, dip settings, jumpers, the lot. Only thing I can think of is that maybe it's the AC adaptor, just checked it and it's 9V. Using the same software as you btw.
    Last edited by SUPERABOBO; 17th-June-2014 at 16:48.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    In a windowless van.
    Posts
    10,330
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 701 Times in 329 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    EP Points
    1430

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SUPERABOBO View Post
    Well thats a switch. I'm that used to padding roms for NES and SNES I thought Gen games would need padding also.

    Thanks for your help, dude.

    Having some problems programming 27c322 chips. 27c160 programmed no problem, the 322's seem to program ok yet gives me an error when they try to verify. But yet looking at the data buffer it seems like they programmed ok? Really strange.

    Everything is setup correctly, dip settings, jumpers, the lot. Only thing I can think of is that maybe it's the AC adaptor, just checked it and it's 9V. Using the same software as you btw.
    Im sure you did everything correctly, the problem is the programmer itself. I for example, never got a 322 programmed successfully. The Willem does a few things well, and other things terribly. If you plan to do this much more often, I suggest buying a different programmer. GQ programmer or Willem "True-USB" are apparently much better than the Parallel programmers. I wish I could sell mine and buy a more expensive one.

    hIt seems like half of my 1MByte 16-bit eproms burn correctly and 0% of the larger ones program successfully. When programming 8-bit eproms, all work perfectly well. It is just that your programmer is cheap. :/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jazzmarazz View Post
    Im sure you did everything correctly, the problem is the programmer itself. I for example, never got a 322 programmed successfully. The Willem does a few things well, and other things terribly. If you plan to do this much more often, I suggest buying a different programmer. GQ programmer or Willem "True-USB" are apparently much better than the Parallel programmers. I wish I could sell mine and buy a more expensive one.

    hIt seems like half of my 1MByte 16-bit eproms burn correctly and 0% of the larger ones program successfully. When programming 8-bit eproms, all work perfectly well. It is just that your programmer is cheap. :/
    Yep, the programmer is complete junk and so is the software.
    I bought the Willem as it was the only programmer I could find that had a 16-bit 42dip adaptor. I usually use my Genius G540 for programming NES and SNES eproms, it has never never failed me once, but sadly it doesn't support 16-bit 42dip Eproms. After hours of messing I managed to get only a few 27c322's programmed with the Willem. The settings are all correct yet it seems total hit or miss if it programs or not. I have not had any problems with 27c160 eproms so far.

    The verify step after programming is also completely useless. A chip will fail to verify, remove it and pop it back in and it will suddenly verify without any errors.

    The GQ's are very expensive but seem like they are worth looking into as the Sivava Willems are complete junk.
    Last edited by Zorlon; 19th-June-2014 at 20:58.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About Us

We are the oldest retro gaming forum on the internet. The goal of our community is the complete preservation of all retro video games. Started in 2001 as EmuParadise Forums, our community has grown over the past 18 years into one of the biggest gaming platforms on the internet.

Social