Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Castlevania series question

Thanks
    EP Points

Default Castlevania series question

Is there any games in the series that DO NOT put you under a time limit for playing levels? The series(at a glance) has always looked rather interesting to me, but I really really hate being under a time limit when playing a game. The other problem i'd have if i started playing this series, is that i'm not real sure what order the games go in(since some are just remakes)

Thanks
    EP Points

I'd have to ask if you have played any to begin with, not just as a marker to know what to offer, but also to see if you just don't like time limits in general, or the time limits that CV has.

Generally speaking, there are almost no levels in Castlevania where the time limit matters. There a few levels where it might get dicey if you take too long, but for the most part the game is on rails and the timer is insignificant.

There are also tons of games in the series, a lot of which have numerous remakes or alternate versions. I could give you a list of what I consider to be the "Main series" of Castlevania, or I could try and give you a rough estimate of all the CV games I know in the order they should played if you're looking for the complete experience. I'm sure if you googled around there's an official timeline though.

The last point I'd make is that many of the, in my opinion, better CV games don't have time limits and are the Metroidvania games. If you aren't interested in those and only want the oldschool sidescrollers I can take that into account.

I'm not sure where I stand on the heirarchy of CV fans on EP, but I'd say at least the top 3 biggest fans. I'm getting my new tattoo soon and it'll be from a very fond memory of CV.

Elmdor Rizer is offline Official Chronicler of EP
    Unofficial Chronicler of your underwear drawer
    Thanks
    EP Points