Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Have you learned any life lessons from video games?

Thanks
    EP Points

Default Have you learned any life lessons from video games?

I've been thinking about this for many years. I get annoyed when I'm told that games are useless, you don't learn anything from them. I disagree, I think that we learn several things from games.
    1.I learned from A Link to the Past that you can't judge a book by its cover(pardon the cliche).
    2. Time and money management from Harvest Moon.
    3.Hand and eye coordination(obviously)

These are a few examples, I want to know if anyone else has thought about this. I have been playing games for over 25 years and I would like to think that I've gained something from it.

Thanks

Mass Effect 3:

If it would all end tomorrow, what would you regret not doing today ?
    No Limit.

Thanks
    EP Points

i learned

1) sephiroth is a dumbass
    2) that i hate typos
    3) tactical skills that i apply to life subconsciously
    4) depending on when you started gaming you usually will only play games from the first gen you played up to the current (applies to certain people)
    5) i like reading in games
    6) replaying a game you used to love as a kid, doesnt mean you will love it now (i loved MMBN1 but now its too ugly to play)
    7) if it ages well, its a VERY good game

First Interview.... sees the couch
    Hello, i am the casting Couch. you have probably seen me in locations that you can ether not tell anyone, or places you wish you never visited if you know what i mean

Thanks

Yes: I need save-states to get anywhere.

Thanks
    EP Points

What you actually learned from video games are usually useless. It is just something that kids can easily learn.
    Like what some of you said, "I learned from A Link to the Past that you can't judge a book by its cover"
    I found that this is pretty simple stuff. That is probably good reason why my parents declined video games..