Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Download Queing and Resuming Guide

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    India
    Posts
    7,246
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 200 Times in 103 Posts

    EP Points
    645

    Default Download Queing and Resuming Guide

    For those members who've had problems with downloads abruptly cutting off or who would like to que their downloads, I've written a Guide on Queing and Resuming your downloads.

    You can see the guide over here .

    Any questions and comments are welcome. Feel free to ask.

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MasJ For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    17,038
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 265 Times in 97 Posts

    EP Points
    550

    Default

    Just breezed through it, succinct and clear. Nice.
    Could you tell me/us why Firefox is more adequate when downloading from the main site than IE? I've been wondering about this for some time now.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    India
    Posts
    7,246
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 200 Times in 103 Posts

    EP Points
    645

    Default

    Well, we recommend firefox for a large number of reasons. One of them is that firefox is less susceptible to adware/spyware and other types of malware. However, speaking only in context of emuparadise, we use FTP transfers for a large number of our downloads and our FTP only allows one login per IP address. Thus, if a person tries to login (download a file..) again while he's already logged in (downloading..), it'll result in an error.
    Now, the problem with some versions of IE is that it makes two logins into an FTP. One is for detecting whether the FTP is working and the other is for actually getting the file. Obviously the first login doesn't expire before the second one kicks in so it results in a 404 Page Not Found, error. This is why we recommend people use Firefox with Emuparadise, so that they can avoid such errors.
    This isn't symptomatic to all versions of IE. The problem only comes up with some versions.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to MasJ For This Useful Post:


  6. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    17,038
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 265 Times in 97 Posts

    EP Points
    550

    Default

    Clears it all up, thanks.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Evans For This Useful Post:


  8. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    ONE thing you forgot to mention.
    while i was downloading FF7 a few months baack i was constantly asking for the password. That was because flashget needs you to input the passowrd manually. so unless you have the current password on the website, this method does not work. Some other download programs also encounter this problem.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to treborwu For This Useful Post:


  10. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    jerz
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    one thing i DONT recommend is download studio...the thing friggin loses connection all the time on connections that would last just fine in ie or firefox

    plus the resume feature barely ever works...waste of time

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to austinsanity For This Useful Post:


  12. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    I followed all of this and it keeps saying the log in information is incorrent. Any help here?

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to shadow_dragon For This Useful Post:


  14. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    India
    Posts
    7,246
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 200 Times in 103 Posts

    EP Points
    645

    Default

    Which file are you trying to download shadow ?

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to MasJ For This Useful Post:


  16. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    I'm trying to get Valkyrie Profile, as my disks are scratched, but the firefox thing isn't working. I can download them singly through IE but not in a que.

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to shadow_dragon For This Useful Post:


  18. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    India
    Posts
    7,246
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 200 Times in 103 Posts

    EP Points
    645

    Default

    The problem seems to be that your download manager isn't capturing the full link.. I don't see why not if you followed the Guide as stated..

    There was another person having a similar problem. Check this thread to see what he did:
    http://forums.emuparadise.org/showthread.php?t=41511

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to MasJ For This Useful Post:


  20. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Ahhh that worked out well. Need to get the open properties when you download normally through firefox, the user information shows right up then.

    Thanks alot!

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to shadow_dragon For This Useful Post:


  22. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    I followed the guide but whenever I try to download something, FlashGet just tries to download the index.php file and not the tracks. Any help would be appreciated.

    Well I've realized now that the referrer link isn't being detected like in the guide. Any tips on how to do this?
    Last edited by SegNin; 31st-January-2008 at 22:05.

  23. The Following User Says Thank You to MSquared For This Useful Post:


  24. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Inside of a Final Fantasy NES cartridge...
    Posts
    8,156
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 8 Posts

    EP Points
    10

    Default

    Click the download link, not the link to the page with the download link.

    The download link should say Server somewhere in it.

  25. The Following User Says Thank You to SegNin For This Useful Post:


  26. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Just started using flashget and it seems that my downloads are way slower than
    the original downloading. Is there anything in flashget that i can change to make it faster?

  27. The Following User Says Thank You to jjcastillo For This Useful Post:


  28. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Inside of a Final Fantasy NES cartridge...
    Posts
    8,156
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 8 Posts

    EP Points
    10

    Default

    Tools > Options > Connection > set Connection Type/Speed to something high like T1.

    That way it won't limit your download speed.

    Also speeds here vary depending on how much traffic the server is getting.
    I've gotten slow speeds too from time to time.

    Also, set Max Simultaneous Jobs to 1, then go back to Tools > Default Download Properties > set Split File to 1.

  29. The Following User Says Thank You to SegNin For This Useful Post:


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •