Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Project 64 is choppy...

Lancer Guest

Default Project 64 is choppy...

I'm brand new to N64 emulation, and I have to say it's a little underwhelming. The gameplay in all my roms has a tendency to just stop, or be extremely slow and choppy. This has rendered F-Zero X all but unplayable, as well as Goldeneye. Since I am so new, I'm afraid to go messing with the settings too much, for fear of messing something up and not knowing how to fix it. The only fix I attempted was lowering the resolution to 640x480, and even that didn't help.

Thoughts?

Thanks

Computer specs please.

Lancer Guest

Pentium 4 2.8 GHz (non-HT )
    512 MB DDR RAM
    32 MB ATi Radeon Mobility 7500
    50 GB hard drive (if that matters)

I get a nasty feeling I'm just doing something wrong. My computer can handle the PC version of Halo, but not Doom 64? Argh.

Thanks

wierd...i just upgraded my computer from 500mhz to 1.8 ghz,and the difference in my n64 emulation by p64 has been amazing.which version are you using?

Currently listening to:
    Isis ~ Panopticon [9/10]
    The Walkmen ~ Bows & Arrows [8.5/10]
    The Shins ~ Oh, Inverted World
    Explosions In The Sky ~ How Strange, Innocence
    Caribou ~ The Milk of Human Kindness
    J�hann J�hannsson ~ Vir�ulegu Forsetar

Thanks
    EP Points

Your graphics card is a radeon mobility. So go get yourself an older version of Glide64 from here:

http://www.emuxhaven.net/~glide64/

And an older version of Evoodoo from here:
    http://evoodoo.emulation64.com/us/home.html

Why am I recommending older versions? Simply because the newer ones cause more problems than they solve for non native 3DFX users.

Thanks

Del_boy one of these days i'm going to find out somehting about computers you don't already know

Currently listening to:
    Isis ~ Panopticon [9/10]
    The Walkmen ~ Bows & Arrows [8.5/10]
    The Shins ~ Oh, Inverted World
    Explosions In The Sky ~ How Strange, Innocence