Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How come Colin McRae D.I.R.T. goes slower than Left4Dead ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default How come Colin McRae D.I.R.T. goes slower than Left4Dead ?

    I don't understand why a game that was released a year before Left4Dead runs slow like hell even at 640x480 and low details, while L4D goes well at 1024 and high details ?
    My graphic card is an integrated IntelHD4000... does anyone know if there's a particular fix for this game to run it properly or should I just give up on this game ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    V.C. B.C. Canada
    Posts
    12,172
    Thanks
    107
    Thanked 613 Times in 268 Posts
    EP Points
    470

    Default

    Depends on the game. Are you talking emulation or the PC versions?

    Just because there's a year between the games doesn't mean much. A lot depends on how it was built - game engine, physics, etc..

    But in the end I don't know how you're trying to run the game. If emulation I've noticed it's always been more difficult to run racing games like that. Particle effects in a dirt racing game could be an issue too especially with just an integrated gpu. Also it may not be fully supported for emulation on Xenia or rpcs3, which we don't really condone here anyways. If the PC version try looking up possible changes that could be made to the config file for the game, generally lighting and shadow effects can really drag on an integrated gpu so turning those off would really help. Google would be your friend on that point. Left 4 dead as I remember was a really well done optimized game and could run well even on a low specced machine. Apples and oranges.

    Also thread needs to be moved.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Google would be your friend on that point.
    Already tried that, only got Dirt 2 or later results... like if this game didn't exist or probably because of the many versions of the game (dirt 2, the new dirt for next gen consoles, previous cmr episodes... )
    yes, I'm talking about the PC version. Most I've found is an article that said to shut internet and some graphic options down... but the link to some kind of special executable isn't available anymore.
    Last edited by barleyman; 26th-February-2021 at 23:51.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    V.C. B.C. Canada
    Posts
    12,172
    Thanks
    107
    Thanked 613 Times in 268 Posts
    EP Points
    470

    Default

    Well you could have a look at this - I didn't go through the whole thing but there are some patches and some other information and it states where the main config file for the game is of which you can fool around with:

    https://www.pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/Colin_McRae:_DiRT

    At the very least seems like a good place to start.

    (also just want to mention - if you have the means, Dirt 5 just came out on gamepass for xbox)
    Last edited by Zaladane; 27th-February-2021 at 01:35.


  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Zaladane For This Useful Post:


  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I see, probably it's because I haven't installed the patches, I'll try that later (gotta finish 3 games before this)

  7. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    V.C. B.C. Canada
    Posts
    12,172
    Thanks
    107
    Thanked 613 Times in 268 Posts
    EP Points
    470

    Default

    Yeah it could help - make sure to install all 3 patches starting with the first. Looks like bug fixes and that but could help with optimization too.


  8. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Codemasters have made of one the most realistic rally sims ever. Few pace notes from Paul Coleman, chief game designer at Codemasters. Throwback Thursday: Colin McRae Rally. Once you're on the track, it's all about starting slow and steady

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zeeshanahmed View Post
    Codemasters have made of one the most realistic rally sims ever. Few pace notes from Paul Coleman, chief game designer at Codemasters. Throwback Thursday: Colin McRae Rally. Once you're on the track, it's all about starting slow and steady
    lol

  10. #9
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    V.C. B.C. Canada
    Posts
    12,172
    Thanks
    107
    Thanked 613 Times in 268 Posts
    EP Points
    470

    Default

    I dunno if it's a bot or not


Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th-December-2003, 00:03
  2. how come my user was destroyed?
    By SDhazuki in forum Free 4 All
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th-June-2003, 22:31
  3. How come I can't get any of the ROMs to download?
    By PhineasBoole in forum ROM & ISO Requests
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd-June-2002, 15:50
  4. How come nobody's emulated the Transfer Pak or the 64DD?
    By Bartman in forum ROM & ISO Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th-February-2002, 09:34

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About Us

We are the oldest retro gaming forum on the internet. The goal of our community is the complete preservation of all retro video games. Started in 2001 as EmuParadise Forums, our community has grown over the past 18 years into one of the biggest gaming platforms on the internet.

Social