Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: My laptop's graphics card is not working right

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    if you need to know just ask me.
    Posts
    1,069
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 32 Times in 14 Posts
    EP Points
    190

    Default My laptop's graphics card is not working right

    Recently got an asus rog gl551-jw and it has a nvidia geforce gtx 860m in it, I went into the bios and I can only change the settings for intel intergrated graphics. When I go into my settings on the desktop I can change the display to nvidia instead of intergrated graphics but when I boot up emulators, they only detect the intergrated and not nvidia. That being said, I can get games off steam to run well and off the nvidia.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    EP Points
    10

    Default

    I've just done a quick Google and this is not an uncommon problem:-

    http://www.tomsguide.com/answers/id-...cated-gpu.html

    It is blamed on the drivers or the order the drivers were installed.

    However there is a less explored cause I thought of myself but have found others suggesting it as a possible explanation too: a power saving mode your laptop is using. It is not actually a problem with the GPU, the laptop is working as intended.

    Integrated graphics use far less power than a dedicated graphic card and if the laptop and/or Windows is set up for power saving it may be switching between the graphics options for this reason. If it can run on the integrated graphics (HD4600?) then the laptop will switch from the GPU to that to save power.

    Integrated graphics are surprisingly capable and if you're retro-gaming, even when using emulators, then a i7 will run a hell of a lot of old stuff at very decent frame rates. My i3 with HD4600 certainly does.

    The fact that Steam games are fine with the GPU shows it is working and also evidence the laptop is switching between the two options. It is recognising a graphically demanding game and swapping to the GPU as required.

    So I'd look in your Windows power settings and if the default is the power saving mode try changing it to custom balanced or high performance and see if that solves the 'problem'.

    This is how you'd do that for Win7 but I'd guess Win10 is similar:-

    1). To begin, click on Start and open your control panel from your Start menu.
    2). Click on Hardware and Sound.
    3). Click on Power Options.
    4). On the left side of the screen, select Create Power Plan.
    5). Select the High Performance option and give the power plan a name.
    Last edited by TheAbysmalDark; 13th-September-2018 at 10:44.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    if you need to know just ask me.
    Posts
    1,069
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 32 Times in 14 Posts
    EP Points
    190

    Default

    Still having problems. I had someone help me get the laptop good for gaming, the os does detect the graphics chip, but whatever that person does (cuts the cpu power down from 10 percent to 0 idle)it makes my steam games stop working, however the emulators still run.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    EP Points
    10

    Default

    Cutting the CPU power down is not what I suggested - it was the exact opposite in fact

    You want to try setting the whole system up for High Performance ie. to use more power or whatever the equivalent is for your OS (Operating System: Win10?). If you've restricted your CPU's power it is no wonder your Steam games have now stopped working.

    https://www.howtogeek.com/240840/sho...an-on-windows/

    Note the bit in that article about some PC makers installing their own 'customised' power plans.

Similar Threads

  1. My R4 card is not working
    By Sombrra in forum Nintendo systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th-January-2014, 16:22
  2. Mouse is not working
    By taintedcereal in forum Nintendo systems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th-March-2007, 10:40
  3. my graphics card is under sys requirements to play n64 roms
    By Monkey D. in forum Everything Emulation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th-April-2004, 14:53
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 26th-June-2003, 12:46
  5. DBZ legasy of goku is not working
    By gokussj8af in forum Comments/Suggestions/Broken Links & Download Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th-June-2002, 02:41

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About Us

We are the oldest retro gaming forum on the internet. The goal of our community is the complete preservation of all retro video games. Started in 2001 as EmuParadise Forums, our community has grown over the past 18 years into one of the biggest gaming platforms on the internet.

Social