Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to Patch Ape Escape (PS1) with old Paradox Patch (*EXE / *BLK) on Windows 10?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default How to Patch Ape Escape (PS1) with old Paradox Patch (*EXE / *BLK) on Windows 10?

    Hello there,

    i'm trying to patch my german image of "Ape Escape" with the Copy Protection Patch from Paradox. Unfortunately the only Patch is this old command line based one "Ape Escape Protection Fix & PAL/NTSC Selector", that Windows refuses to start. Is there any other way to get the copy protection removed from the game? I want to play on real hardware.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    16,555
    Thanks
    549
    Thanked 1,100 Times in 675 Posts
    EP Points
    6270

    Default

    There isn't a patch to use with PPF-O-Matic?
    Spoiler warning:

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Couldn't find one.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    16,555
    Thanks
    549
    Thanked 1,100 Times in 675 Posts
    EP Points
    6270

    Default

    I looked this up before, I can't see what you have but I'm guessing it's PPF-O-Matic bundled with a patch as an .exe.
    You just run it in the same directory as your dump (should be bin/cue iirc but maybe I'm wrong) it should patch the image automatically.
    Spoiler warning:

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    As the name implies PPF-O-Matic only handles *.ppf patches. But the patch i have is *.blk
    PPF-o-Matic doesnt handle this file.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    16,555
    Thanks
    549
    Thanked 1,100 Times in 675 Posts
    EP Points
    6270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pat86 View Post
    As the name implies PPF-O-Matic only handles *.ppf patches. But the patch i have is *.blk
    PPF-o-Matic doesnt handle this file.
    Follow the instructions in the NFO, but as you're on win10 maybe you might need to do this in dosbox.
    Spoiler warning:

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to deadlegion For This Useful Post:


  8. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks, the route via dosbox worked.

Similar Threads

  1. How to burn Dreamcast cdi images with ImgBurn
    By Zorlon in forum Sega systems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th-October-2012, 11:26
  2. I'm new and i don't know how to download the ISO's with my FTP program.
    By shoneno in forum Comments/Suggestions/Broken Links & Download Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th-September-2004, 15:15
  3. How to burn a Dreamcast Image file?
    By quaycur in forum Everything Emulation
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 24th-May-2004, 03:48
  4. Can someone tell me exactly how to burn a psx game with nero?
    By omni_rom in forum ROM & ISO Requests
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12th-September-2002, 05:25

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About Us

We are the oldest retro gaming forum on the internet. The goal of our community is the complete preservation of all retro video games. Started in 2001 as EmuParadise Forums, our community has grown over the past 18 years into one of the biggest gaming platforms on the internet.

Social