Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Parasite Eve 2 will not work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Parasite Eve 2 will not work

    I got a copy of both discs of parasite eve 2 from emuparadise. This is the only game I'm having issues with. I can run the first parasite eve and most other roms I have without a hitch. Parasite eve 2 almost refuses to play. I pulled down epsxe205, psxfin, retroarch and none of them would play either the rom or my original discs. With one exception, the screen will freeze on "Published by Square Electronic Arts L.L.C." I pulled down PSXeven and it will start playing the intro, but it's choppy as hell and I haven't been able to get it to accept my xbox 360 controller yet. psxfin seems to be my favorite one so far, but if epsxe or retroarch would work with it, I'd be happy as their interfaces are familiar. all the emulators have used the same bios. Suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    16,935
    Thanks
    577
    Thanked 1,162 Times in 714 Posts
    EP Points
    6910

    Default

    There are settings for ePSXe v.2.0 on PSX Datacenter.


    Edit:
    What platform are you trying to run this on? I just noticed the thread is in everything console.
    Last edited by deadlegion; 2nd-August-2018 at 02:05.
    Spoiler warning:

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Windows 10 x64

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    16,935
    Thanks
    577
    Thanked 1,162 Times in 714 Posts
    EP Points
    6910

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by imualao View Post
    Windows 10 x64
    Thread moved.
    Spoiler warning:

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    V.C. B.C. Canada
    Posts
    11,540
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 584 Times in 244 Posts
    EP Points
    810

    Default

    I actually got this again not to long ago myself (Just met Douglas at the trailer in dryfield) and using epsxe (1.9.25)

    I'm using peops opengl 1.78 with the following settings:

    Resolution/Color:
    - 1920x1080 Fullscreen - NO desktop changing
    - V-Sync: Driver
    - Keep psx aspect ratio: off

    Textures:
    - R8G8A8A8
    - iFiltering: 6
    - Hi-Res textures: 1
    - VRam size: 128 MBytes

    Framerate:
    - FPS limitation: on
    - Frame skipping: off
    - FPS limit: 63.0

    Compatibility:
    - Offscreen drawing: 2
    - Framebuffer texture: 1
    - Framebuffer access: 0
    - Alpha multipass: on
    - Mask bit: off
    - Advanced blending: off

    Misc:
    - Scanlines: off
    - Line mode: off
    - Unfiltered FB: off
    - 15 bit FB: off
    - Dithering: off
    - Screen smoothing: off
    - Game fixes: off [00000000]

    It's working fine for me (most important things are compatibility and then maybe textures) but you may have to tweak a setting or 2 depending on your hardware.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    If it helps, I'm using ePSXe 2.0.5. I've got a Radeon R9 390 video card. Sound coming through my motherboard, I don't have a dedicated audio card.

    Zaladane, I appreciate the suggestion, but at the moment your settings, when run with any ISO I've got, cause my screen to go temporarily dark and then ePSXe crashes. A step up from my previous settings which required me to reboot my computer to get out of the black screen, but still not quite what I'm looking for.

    Went on PSX Datacenter. Used this video plugin configuration per the listed config:
    Plugin: Pete's OpenGL2 Driver 2.10
    Author: Pete Bernert
    Card vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.
    GFX card: AMD Radeon (TM) R9 390 Series

    Resolution/Color:
    - 800x600 Window mode
    - Internal X resolution: 2
    - Internal Y resolution: 3
    - Keep psx aspect ratio: off
    - No render-to-texture: - No render-to-texture: off


    - Filtering: 2
    - Hi-Res textures: 0
    - TexWin pixel shader: on
    - VRam size: 0 MBytes

    Framerate:
    - FPS limitation: off
    - Frame skipping: off
    - FPS limit: 63.0

    Compatibility:
    - Offscreen drawing: 1
    - Framebuffer effects: 3
    - Framebuffer uploads: 2

    Misc:
    - Scanlines: on [255]
    - Mdec filter: on
    - Screen filtering: on
    - Shader effects: 5/4
    - Flicker-fix border size: 0
    - GF4/XP crash fix: off
    - Game fixes: off [00000000]


    I'm getting this error:
    plugins\shaders\gpuPeteOGL2.slv
    Shader Effects: Missing custom file!

    Found the page for Pete's, but it's almost 10 years old, so I'm not sure if it can meet my needs. If somebody has more recommendations, I'd love to hear them.
    http://www.pbernert.com/html/gpu.htm#SHADER

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    V.C. B.C. Canada
    Posts
    11,540
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 584 Times in 244 Posts
    EP Points
    810

    Default

    You might want to try a slightly older version, I've seen a few people have problems with 2.0.5

    That being said you may want to manually set vram size to 128. Opengl plugins tend to work better with Nvidia cards (what I have) with epsxe for some reason so either use an older version of that like 1.78 or even one of the D3D ones.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    switched to 1.9.25. Immediate success. The sound is a bit off, but it runs!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Shooting Sonic Booms and Flash Kicking Scrubs into submission
    Posts
    3,938
    Thanks
    179
    Thanked 2,525 Times in 729 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    EP Points
    17255

    Default

    If you want to run it fine in RetroArch all you needed to do was enable a option setting to fix Parasite eve 2 (PCSX ReARMed core)

    it should run just fine in Beetle PSX.
    THE BEST METHOD to run PSX games (and everything else for that matter) is via Retroarch - http://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly/
    If you have any questions on how to set it up on Windows please feel free to ask, its very easy.


  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    V.C. B.C. Canada
    Posts
    11,540
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 584 Times in 244 Posts
    EP Points
    810

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by imualao View Post
    switched to 1.9.25. Immediate success. The sound is a bit off, but it runs!
    Amazing how that was the first thing I said:

    I actually got this again not to long ago myself (Just met Douglas at the trailer in dryfield) and using epsxe (1.9.25)

    Anyhow with audio that's why I run at 63 fps. you can fiddle with that yourself though. Not to mention the audio options themself.

    Quote Originally Posted by Warrior View Post
    If you want to run it fine in RetroArch all you needed to do was enable a option setting to fix Parasite eve 2 (PCSX ReARMed core)

    it should run just fine in Beetle PSX.

    Also fuck Retroarch he was asking about epsxe




  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Warrior View Post
    If you want to run it fine in RetroArch all you needed to do was enable a option setting to fix Parasite eve 2 (PCSX ReARMed core)

    it should run just fine in Beetle PSX.
    Which option setting?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zaladane View Post
    Amazing how that was the first thing I said:

    I actually got this again not to long ago myself (Just met Douglas at the trailer in dryfield) and using epsxe (1.9.25)

    Anyhow with audio that's why I run at 63 fps. you can fiddle with that yourself though. Not to mention the audio options themself.




    Also fuck Retroarch he was asking about epsxe

    True, you did specify 1.9.25, but I had hoped that I wouldn't need to hunt down an earlier version. I'm really lazy like that.

    Quote Originally Posted by imualao View Post
    psxfin seems to be my favorite one so far, but if epsxe or retroarch would work with it, I'd be happy as their interfaces are familiar. all the emulators have used the same bios. Suggestions?
    I appreciate all the help.

Similar Threads

  1. Controls will not work ingame menu
    By mitchell865 in forum Sony systems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th-October-2014, 18:02
  2. GBA pokemon emulators will not work
    By justdontask3 in forum Nintendo systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th-August-2013, 16:00
  3. Password for psx zenogears will not work
    By Solidjack in forum Comments/Suggestions/Broken Links & Download Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th-September-2011, 00:17
  4. looking for parasite eve 2 that works for my psp
    By hypro1122 in forum ROM & ISO Requests
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 8th-March-2008, 14:14
  5. CDRwin 4.0E will not work
    By Inferno. in forum Computer Corner
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd-February-2008, 04:20

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About Us

We are the oldest retro gaming forum on the internet. The goal of our community is the complete preservation of all retro video games. Started in 2001 as EmuParadise Forums, our community has grown over the past 18 years into one of the biggest gaming platforms on the internet.

Social