Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can't get controller to work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Can't get controller to work

    I downloaded PCSX2 last week, got the BIOS in and the game I wanted, which opens fine. I'm stuck at the controller part. I don't know what to do to make it work. I have tried my Dualshock 3 and 4 controllers and both are picked up by the emulator but since I can't actually get my DS3 to work even on steam where my DS4 works automatically I just want to get the DS4 working.

    It works automatically when plugged in for Steam, works fine when tested on the laptop in Set up USB game controllers and in Config - Controllers (PAD) - Plugin Settings and in the LilyPad 0.11.0 (ld) Settings screen that comes up, DX Wireless Controller appears in the Device Diagnostics box. When I click Test Device the they react on the buttons list. I feel I must be close but I need help Can anybody help me get up and running? I already posted on the PCSX2 forums several days ago and I got no replies so by now I'm pretty frustrated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Where you can laugh and cry out loud...
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    EP Points
    325

    Default

    Make sure you have DirectInput checked, not XInput. Do buttons react when you try to map them?

    If nothing else helps, try using Xpadder or JoyToKey.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for replying I see DirectInput in three boxes, Keyboard API, Mouse API and Game Device APIS. I assume you mean the last one so I unchecked XInput and now I have DirectInput and Monitor when in background checked in that box. Are there any other adjustments I should make in this screen?

    As for mapping, that's what Pad 1 and Pad 2 are for right? In both of those, I have nothing at all in the left side box. What are I doing wrong?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    V.C. B.C. Canada
    Posts
    11,540
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 584 Times in 244 Posts
    EP Points
    810

    Default

    At the top in config/controller/plugin settings you'll have 3 tabs - general/pad 1/pad 2

    click pad 1 then click each button on the big right box and then the corresponding button on your pad - manually set every button and hit apply then ok and you should be good.


  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Zaladane For This Useful Post:


  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Where you can laugh and cry out loud...
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    EP Points
    325

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Macha View Post
    Thanks for replying I see DirectInput in three boxes, Keyboard API, Mouse API and Game Device APIS. I assume you mean the last one so I unchecked XInput and now I have DirectInput and Monitor when in background checked in that box. Are there any other adjustments I should make in this screen?
    No, you're good to go.

    Quote Originally Posted by Macha View Post
    As for mapping, that's what Pad 1 and Pad 2 are for right?
    Right.

    Quote Originally Posted by Macha View Post
    In both of those, I have nothing at all in the left side box. What are I doing wrong?
    Click on the field with a button (Up, Down, Square, Triangle, etc.) then press the corresponding button on your gamepad. If you do it right, you'll see the text on the left changing and/or adding new lines.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to daky For This Useful Post:


  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I'm up and running! Controller is now perfect. Thanks Zaladane and daky!

Similar Threads

  1. I can't get IMBNES to work on my PS2
    By Defiant One in forum Everything Emulation
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th-July-2002, 20:54
  2. can't get megamanx4 to work on epsxe
    By pika in forum ROM & ISO Requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd-June-2002, 13:18
  3. Can't get ff9 to work...
    By Anarky in forum ROM & ISO Requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th-February-2002, 20:41

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About Us

We are the oldest retro gaming forum on the internet. The goal of our community is the complete preservation of all retro video games. Started in 2001 as EmuParadise Forums, our community has grown over the past 18 years into one of the biggest gaming platforms on the internet.

Social