Thread: homebrew without SD card?

Thanks

Default homebrew without SD card?

Hi, complete newbie here and may well be utterly out of my depth on this forum...

I don't have an SD card but have managed to install homebrew on my wii via the internet channel as per a link I found via google.

What would I have to do now to be able to play some backup discs I've been given? Can I again do it via internet or a USB stick/ external hard drive rather than buy an SD card?

thank you - and I'm really new to this so apologies if I sound dense!

Jackhammer is offline Administrator
    Stroke The Goat
    ┌∩┐(◣_◢)┌∩┐
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,267 Times in 270 Posts
    EP Points

You don't need an SD card. You will need either an external HDD or USB stick.

Thanks

Thanks- what do I do next though? I’ve got homebrew channel on the wii but no apps. Which app do I need to play a backup disc? Sorry if this is basic stuff. I’ve spent hours on google and am still none the wiser what I do if I have the channel, but no disc loader.

Stroke The Goat
    ┌∩┐(◣_◢)┌∩┐
    Thanks
    EP Points

Download USBLoaderGX. Link: https://sourceforge.net/projects/usbloadergx/ Make sure you get the Wii version if you're using a Wii, the vWii is for the Wii U.

Extract it to the root of your HDD or USB. It should look like HDD/apps/usbloader_gx. You can now browse through your Homebrew channel to start USBLoaderGX.

To copy Wii games to your HDD/USB, download WiiBackupManager. This allows you to copy your ISO to your HDD/USB.

It also depends on your Wii if it will play backups from disc. Usually the old white versions will, the black or coloured version wont. They should all play from HDD/USB though. It's better to play from HDD as the games run better than they do from backup discs.

This is only a very basic way of doing it, you can add forwarder channels to start your USB loader, but best to start with the basics.
    Last edited by Jackhammer; 13th-April-2018 at 20:50.

Thanks