Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Playstation games on retropie?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Playstation games on retropie?

    hi im.im.new here I've installed retropie onto my raspberry pi and nes,snes,Sega games all play great but I thought I could.play ps games on it also. but there not showing up on the menu.

    thanks

    Sent from my SM-S920L using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    EP Points
    5

    Default

    I assume you have installed some PS1 emulator and you have put the proper bios in the prope folder, right? I think those were the first steps to follow. Beside, games have to be in certain format: https://github.com/retropie/retropie.../Playstation-1

    For sure you can play PS1 games with that machine, so tell us and we will try to help you.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Sorry, I should have said I'm brand new to this raspberry pi and have no clue what to do, I was able to install retropie onto my micro SD card using the image program. took a few trys. but besides having that installed besides the roms I've downloaded there nothing else on my mem card.

    Sent from my SM-S920L using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    EP Points
    5

    Default

    Then read the link I posted: you need bios for PS1 games to run. Where are you PS1 games located? What format do they have?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I've just been downloading roms from online there zip files. I will read the link.
    the roms on the retropie shows a px folder but when I put the game in it it doesn't show up on the main menu where all the other systems are
    thanks

    Sent from my SM-S920L using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Shooting Sonic Booms and Flash Kicking Scrubs into submission
    Posts
    3,839
    Thanks
    168
    Thanked 2,297 Times in 710 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    EP Points
    16100

    Default

    Retropie uses RetroArch for most of its emulators but I prefer to just use the real thing, here is the bios pack if you wish to use it - http://emulation.gametechwiki.com/in...Emulator_Files

    Topmost link
    THE BEST METHOD to run PSX games (and everything else for that matter) is via Retroarch - http://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly/
    If you have any questions on how to set it up on Windows please feel free to ask, its very easy.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    well I got the bios for the ps in there now, I have the ps logo on the menu now and couple games in there but the games won't open. I have one game as a .cue file and one is .I so file. is there something else I need to do?

    Sent from my SM-S920L using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Shooting Sonic Booms and Flash Kicking Scrubs into submission
    Posts
    3,839
    Thanks
    168
    Thanked 2,297 Times in 710 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    EP Points
    16100

    Default

    THE BEST METHOD to run PSX games (and everything else for that matter) is via Retroarch - http://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly/
    If you have any questions on how to set it up on Windows please feel free to ask, its very easy.


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Warrior View Post
    thanks I've been reading that along with watching come videos. it says files must be .cue files but it still doesn't work i downloaded them from love roms there .rar files from there and another site there 7z files I extracted them but not sure what I'm doing wrong

    Sent from my SM-S920L using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Shooting Sonic Booms and Flash Kicking Scrubs into submission
    Posts
    3,839
    Thanks
    168
    Thanked 2,297 Times in 710 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    EP Points
    16100

    Default

    You have both bin/cue in the same folder?
    THE BEST METHOD to run PSX games (and everything else for that matter) is via Retroarch - http://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly/
    If you have any questions on how to set it up on Windows please feel free to ask, its very easy.


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Warrior View Post
    You have both bin/cue in the same folder?
    yes. Both are in the psx folder on the retropie/roms/psx folder

    Sent from my SM-S920L using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Well, I got a couple of games to finally work. not sure why it wasn't before. thanks. one game has multiple bin files do I copy all of them?

    Sent from my SM-S920L using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Shooting Sonic Booms and Flash Kicking Scrubs into submission
    Posts
    3,839
    Thanks
    168
    Thanked 2,297 Times in 710 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    EP Points
    16100

    Default

    Yes every bin must be with the cue in the same folder, do not rename them.
    THE BEST METHOD to run PSX games (and everything else for that matter) is via Retroarch - http://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly/
    If you have any questions on how to set it up on Windows please feel free to ask, its very easy.


  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Warrior View Post
    Yes every bin must be with the cue in the same folder, do not rename them.
    thanks, now if I could find a easy way to convert 7z to rar files. as it seems the rar are easy to deal with.

    Sent from my SM-S920L using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15,625
    Thanks
    452
    Thanked 1,004 Times in 618 Posts
    EP Points
    5790

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Epoweredrc View Post
    thanks, now if I could find a easy way to convert 7z to rar files. as it seems the rar are easy to deal with.

    Sent from my SM-S920L using Tapatalk
    Use the latest version of 7zip to handle any archives. It's totally free.
    http://www.7-zip.org/
    Spoiler warning:


    If you send me a friend request on PSN please identify yourself and possibly state a reason why. Blank requests will be ignored.

Similar Threads

  1. Running M.A.M.E games on Retropie 4.2
    By Kasimar1 in forum Other systems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th-May-2017, 20:40
  2. Playstation Network games on PSP
    By bruckyj in forum Sony systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th-November-2012, 11:04
  3. I Need Help Running Nes Games On Playstation
    By retahreyalp in forum Everything Emulation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd-February-2004, 13:29
  4. what do i need to play nes games on playstation
    By retahreyalp in forum Everything Emulation
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 15th-January-2004, 14:18

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About Us

We are the oldest retro gaming forum on the internet. The goal of our community is the complete preservation of all retro video games. Started in 2001 as EmuParadise Forums, our community has grown over the past 17 years into one of the biggest gaming platforms on the internet.

Social