Thread: Looking For Insight & Tiips On Building a Gaming Rig

Hybrid View

Thanks

Default Looking For Insight & Tiips On Building a Gaming Rig

Hello,

I'm new to emuparadise forums, and this is my first post. I'm looking to get some information gathered on building a gaming rig at a relatively frugal price... and I mean cheap. I really only have one desire, and that is to play counter strike smoothly. So, here I am asking you for help. I'm pretty familiar and adept with computers, but I have never gotten around to building my own rig. I find that hardware specs, and the variety of products out there to be overwhelming. So, where should we begin?

Thanks
    EP Points

I'll assume you have the same definition of Cheap as I do, total build under $100. I'm assuming by "counter strike" you mean the original released in 2000, I'm not familiar, but that year likely means windows xp, which would make it easy, and cheap. Before deciding on a pc look at the manufactures website for the drivers, often several operating systems are supported, not just the one on the OEM Licence Sticker. You do not want to get 90% through an install and not be able to load a driver, lack of or rather rejected lan drivers has been a nightmare to me in the past.

I usually begin with examining 10 or more retired towers/compacts brought to me and my spare parts collection, this allows initial cost to be cheap, and even junk computers can be made acceptable for common use by adding ram and a few expansion cards which could be upgraded later if desired or needed. (my front room playback pc was a sidewalk special I threw spare ram and a video card in, it made a nice "smart" dvd player.