Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: CPS3 emulator can't run street fighter III: 3rd strike rom.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default CPS3 emulator can't run street fighter III: 3rd strike rom.

    I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, here.

    I downloaded the cps3 emulator, made a folder for it, and extracted the cps3 rom Street Fighter III 3rd Strike - Fight for the Future (US) [CP3000U0G - CAP-33S0A0] [N.A.] into the same folder.

    Each option for loading a rom says files are missing.

    What am I doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Shooting Sonic Booms and Flash Kicking Scrubs into submission
    Posts
    3,781
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 2,149 Times in 697 Posts

    Blog Entries
    2
    EP Points
    15290

    Default

    I suggest you just grab the Final Burn Alpha romset I have posted here, it will do you a world of good in the arcade rom headache department.

    https://www.epforums.org/showthread....77#post1765177

    Its very easy to set up, arcade roms are typically way more complicated than standard console roms.
    THE BEST METHOD to run PSX games (and everything else for that matter) is via Retroarch - http://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly/
    If you have any questions on how to set it up on Windows please feel free to ask, its very easy.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Okay, awesome. That worked, finally.

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Shooting Sonic Booms and Flash Kicking Scrubs into submission
    Posts
    3,781
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 2,149 Times in 697 Posts

    Blog Entries
    2
    EP Points
    15290

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DrDumbass View Post
    Okay, awesome. That worked, finally.

    Thank you.
    You are using the FBA emulator I included correct?

    If you have any questions don't hesitate to ask.
    THE BEST METHOD to run PSX games (and everything else for that matter) is via Retroarch - http://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly/
    If you have any questions on how to set it up on Windows please feel free to ask, its very easy.


  5. #5
    Zorlon's Avatar
    Zorlon is offline Administrator Older than you think
    Still loves Retro gaming
    Still loves new consoles
    Part time games modder
    Just here to help out when I can
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK Newcastle
    Posts
    21,894
    Thanks
    168
    Thanked 1,900 Times in 1,243 Posts

    Blog Entries
    5
    EP Points
    10720

    Default

    extracted the cps3 rom

    to be honest that actually sounds like the issue

    arcade rom zip files should be kept as zip files and stored in the roms folder using the original zip file name, so the rom zip files should not be renamed

    Other media is different though it is just the rom chip dumps that remain zipped, chd ect remain as chd files and should not be zipped or renamed
    Last edited by Zorlon; 3rd-January-2017 at 09:08.

    Mod projects - XBOX
    Phantasy Star Online Episodes 1 & 2 - online quests in offline mode packs [COMPLETE]
    [Quest Packs Collection]
    GTA San Andreas - Hot Coffee [COMPLETE]
    [Mod ready] & [Full ISO ready]
    GTA San Andreas - Real Car Names extra content mod [WIP] [Back burner, just won't have the time ]
    Please can all ESR users post your results here to help with the project and others wanting to use ESR

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    EP Points
    15

    Default

    CPS-III games work just fine with MAME. I have all 3 Street Fighter III zip and CHD files from MAME 0.180 romset and they all work with MAME 0.181. Auditing says the ROMs were not properly dumped, but they still work without any apparent issues.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •