Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Software to make my own NES/SNES roms?

Thanks

Default Software to make my own NES/SNES roms?

If this has been asked somewhere else, please link me the post. I can't seem to find a definite answer to this question.

My question is, is there any piece of GameMaker-like software that allows you to program/design your own NES/SNES roms? I have found a lot of resources for hacking roms, but none for creating one.

If that software isn't available (which I don't think it is), is there a guide anywhere that explains how to make a NES or SNES rom from the ground up? I am a Java programmer familiar with GUIs, and familiar with AS2 flash game design, but don't know where to begin when it comes to building a rom.

Is any of this possible?

Thanks
    Blog Entries
    EP Points

All I know about this is that you will have to learn ASM. that will suck, but let me know when you do.

Thanks

Thank you, I have no clue how ASM works but I was able to find this article using it as a keyword: http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Super_N...ation_Tutorial
    It's a full tutorial for making a SNES rom that displays a background color. Guess I'm in for a lot more work than I thought but it seems like too cool of a home project to not try.

Here is the awesome looking entire guide, very recently updated: http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Super_NES_Programming

Thanks
    Blog Entries
    EP Points

It will be a very difficult project, but most likely invaluable if you learn the language. Vintage game buffs like me pay out the ass for a "new" vintage games.
    When you get something working, I can put it on a cartridge for you.

Thanks

That would be awesome, and a dream come true. Now that I found all the proper documentation I'm going to start working and will keep everyone updated. If I ever do give up or slow down, I will definitely make all of my code/project public for others to pick it up. Thank you for the help so far.

Thanks
    Blog Entries
    EP Points