Thread: Advice on MB/CPU Upgrades

Thanks

Default Advice on MB/CPU Upgrades

OK, heres a three part question

1) I'm thinking about upgrading my mother board and processor. Im using a AMD Sempron2800 running at 2Ghz with a 167Mhz FSB, L1 128, L2 256. My MB is a KM4M-V with the usual crap. Now, the question is if i upgrade this to a AMD64 processor with a compatable MB, will i see a real difference seeing as not a lot of programs are not 64 bit yet? I was thinking that it may still make the number crunching go faster, but im no expert.

2) My next question is: is DDR 2700 standard compatable with other standards?

3) How much of a pain in the ass will it be to do the transfer? I dont know if i will have to buy a new case, and im hoping not, how should i go about testing this out?

Thanks for any help
    Last edited by malice2501; 24th-October-2005 at 07:58.

Thanks

2) for any memory, when you put it with another memory speed, even when compatible, it will go at the speed of the lowest one
    so it might be better for performance to buy new memory

3) well before anything you should check the dimensions of your MB (check the maker's website or something) and the dimensions of the one you want to get
    otherwise i don't think you will have to get a new case

but you might need a new power supply if you plan on guetting newer graphic cards and such.. because newer need more power than before... also the processor might need more power... so you should check for that

i have checked your motherboard... but i couldn't find the KM4M-4 only the KM4M-V
    http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...class=mb&cpu=2
    Dimentions :9.65 in. (L) x 7.56 in. (W) MicroATX Form Factor

i don't know really how much space and if the 64bit board would fit.. so you might check that...

note: i'm no pro... so it's the way that i would use... and maybe not the way it should be done... please excuse any error or correct me in any stage that i wrote...