Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ok, so I want to emulate N64 games.

Cloud Strife Guest

Default Ok, so I want to emulate N64 games.

Hey all, noob here. Before I get started, I just want to say that I think this place is awesome and I think you guys do a great job here! I look forward to getting to know many of you fellow addicts.

I've recently became addicted to the emulating scene big time. I've ran NES, Genesis, and SNES games with ease and now I want to run N64. From reading through the archives, it looks like they'll be a bit more difficult to run and require certain plugins. I've downloaded a ton of emulators and plugins for N64 already that were suggested by members on the archives here because I knew I would most likely need them.

Here's my dilemna. I'm on a laptop, and I know my graphics card sucks. In fact, I've done the directx diagnosis and can't even find what's in the thing. Here are the specs I do know:

Pentium III laptop
    800 mhz
    256 MB RAM
    Direct X 8.0
    1024x768 resolution
    Windows 98
    Crystal Sound Fusion

My questions are these:
    1) Do I have any ability at all to run N64 games on this laptop, and if so, how do I run a basic setup with my emulator(s) to do so?

2) I've heard Project64 is the best emulator for N64. Can someone tell me which version of it is best and which games it will not run. I've downloaded numerous emulators and would like to know which ones work with which games. Also, I need help setting it and any other useful N64 emulators up.

3) I plan on purchasing a desktop in the near future. Which things should I look for in a new computer that will be either required or a good thing to have to run high quality graphics through emulators for N64, PS2, etc.? I know a good processor and video card is a must. Any particular type that would be the best, etc, would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Thanks

1) Your laptop should work
    2) It should run almost every game youll find for download