Thread: Help on building a computer

bluebommerr Guest

Default Help on building a computer

OK here's the deal: i found a (what seemed like broken) tower in my tenant's place. they moved out and left it there so i decided i'd take it. I am new at this and interested in building a comp but am not interested in spending cash in total i have these parts:

AOpen case (with power outlet, cables)
    AOpen AP5VM motherboard
    Virge/DX video card
    FX-3D sound card
    USB card thing
    2 Acer memory sticks

So, can i build a computer with these things? I don't need a super-computer, in fact not even a decnt one. I'm fine with a piece of crap computer as long as it can boot and i can say, "i built this"

so please help

MolsenMI Guest

Do you really need three topics saying "Hey I found a crappy computer."

You could have easily put these into one topic. I don't even know what you want in this one. You have a computer that's already built and you want to build a computer out of it. So, what you're saying is, you want to take apart an old computer and then put it back together just so you can say you built it. What's the point?

bluebommerr Guest

sounds like your talking without knowing much dude. my topics are totally different. first of all, the computer that i added me memory to is not this one. its another comp. Secondly, the thing about the old phoenix comp is not this one. This is another system which i found several parts for and i wanted to know if i could fix it up. so if u have a solution tell me or else beat it.

Shadowrider Guest

ur missing one main thing:cpu.

basically, you need :

motherboard (obviously).
    cpu
    ram
    power, and
    graphics card.
    monitor.

of course you need input devices such as keyboard or mouse.
    and the rest is optional.

i see there you have everything except the cpu, and make sure it's compatible with the motherboard.

congobongo Guest